Whipple Awardees

The Honorable Lawrence A. Whipple Memorial Award is presented annually by the ACDL-NJ to a member of the bar who exemplifies professionalism, dedication to, and passion for the law. This prestigious award honors the memory of Judge Whipple, who was a highly regarded jurist in the Superior Court, Hudson County, from 1963 until 1967, at which time he was appointed to the United States District Court of New Jersey by President Lyndon Johnson.

2022    CJ Griffin
2021    Joseph E. Krakora
2020    Lois A. DeJulio
2019    Hon. Stanley R. Chesler, U.S.D.J.
2018    Miles Feinstein
2017    Justin T. Loughry
2016    Hon. John P. McDonald, J.S.C.
2015    Kevin H. Marino
2014    Hon. Edwin H. Stern, J.A.D. (Ret.)
2013    Lawrence S. Lustberg
2012    Hon. Dickinson R. Debevoise, U.S.D.J.
2011    Hon. Katharine S. Hayden, U.S.D.J.
2010    Hon. John W. Bissell, U.S.D.J. (Ret.)
2009    Hon. Harvey Weissbard, J.A.D. (Ret.)
2008    Hon. Esther Salas, U.S.M.J.
2007    Hon. Robert E. Francis (Ret.)
2006    Hon. John J. Gibbons, U.S.C.J. (Ret.)
2005    David A. Ruhnke
2004    Justin Walder
2003    Hon. Tonianne J. Bongiovanni, U.S.M.J.
2002    Francis J. Hartman & Carl D. Poplar
2001    Michael Critchley
2000    Joseph A. Hayden, Jr.
1999    Theodore V. Wells, Jr.
1998    Raymond A. Brown & Thomas R. Ashley
1997    No recipient
1996    John F. McMahon
1995    Hon. John J. Hughes, U.S.M.J. (Ret.)